top of page

Happiness Is A Journey

Since the beginning of the New Year, like many, I have been reviewing what I want and refining the direction I choose to travel this year. I created time to explore the blessings and lessons offered through the events of last year and listened within to hear where I am now being called. Sometimes that voice is faint, and my mind of ‘shoulds’ and ‘have tos’ speaks louder than my heart’s true longing.

This annual new beginning inspired me to clean out my file cabinets – inner and outer – and I made room for something new, more, different, and wonderful to be revealed this year. I also did my best to identify and clear out old limiting beliefs that still lurk within me and to access my knowing that, flaws and all, I am magnificent and right where I am meant to be.

When we set goals, we have a specific end point in mind. But often within our goal-setting endeavors we include the seeds of failure – unrealistic expectations, self-judgment and criticism, and too harsh a measurement of progress and success.

I am becoming more aware that being specific and clear and taking action is essential if we want to manifest the future we say we desire. Rather than have an agenda, we must shift to visioning what we want, feeling it as if it is already so, seeing it as already in place. We must also learn to hold our intention with a loose grip, allowing it or something better to be drawn to us, perhaps in an unimagined form different from our specific request or dream. We have to actively want it with every one of our senses and be willing to allow the form to be created from the quality of our energy.

Having an agenda can point us in a specific direction but can cause us to put on blinders that prevent us from noticing other opportunities that cross our path. Holding an intention allows us to take in other options for consideration and opens our hearts to the vibrations of subtly being called in a new or slightly different direction.

Often an agenda can be a plan that you implement to run away from your fears, whereas an intention keeps you focused on moving toward what is wonderful. What you focus on you create more of-and if we keep on doing what we’re doing, we’ll keep on getting what we’re getting. This still is a sticky area for me. I constantly need to refocus my gaze on the new horizon with faith rather than on old patterns that have driven me for so many years and keep me trapped in fear.

‘Now’ is where we are and what we all have. This moment. This precious present. It is our responsibility to consciously choose who we are to be while we are doing whatever we are doing.

Rather than try to check off all of the things on my ‘to do’ list that somehow reproduce and expand no matter how hard I work to eliminate them, I will choose over and over to shift that old pattern this year. Instead I will dare to listen inward for my direction and know that wherever I am on that list I can do that task with compassion, joy, and generosity. This year I will live my life as best I know how believing that I am safe, all is well, I am blessed in every moment regardless of the circumstances, and I am grateful for all that I have.

As I passed through the Seattle airport just yesterday I came across this quote on a card that I knew was to be shared:

“For a long time it seemed to me that life was about to begin – real life. But, there was always some obstacle in the way, something to be gotten through first, some unfinished business, time still to be served, a debt to be paid. At last it dawned on me that these obstacles were my life. This perspective has helped me see there is no way to happiness. Happiness is the way. So treasure every moment you have and remember that time waits for no one.” — Souza

This is your life today. Who will you be? What will you intend? Will you willingly trust your magnificence enough to take the time to listen within, and to be grateful as you notice all that you have?

In Joy, Rhonda

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page