top of page
Rhonda Hull

What is a ‘half-asked’ life? Curious?

Dear %$firstname$%,


My youngest daughter shared this story with me… one that made me chuckle, and prompted me to ponder the importance of living wholeheartedly.

It is my twelve-year-old grandson’s responsibility is to empty the dishwasher. Because he had been asked several times and only partially completed this task before heading off to play his computer games, his mom took away his time on the computer. At first he protested, and after awhile he came to his mom with an apology and the hope that he would get his computer time renewed. 

He pleaded his case. What my daughter heard my grandson say was, “Mom, please forgive me. Next time you ask, I promise I won’t do a ‘half-assed’ job. My daughter was shocked that he had so boldly said this to her! She took a deep breath and calmly told him that using this inappropriate language was not a good way to have his computer time re-instated. 

My grandson looked at her quite confused. “What inappropriate language?” His face conveyed his innocence, and so she realized that there was something amiss in their communication. What she heard and what he had said were different.  “I did not say anything bad,” he continued. “I promise, mom, I won’t do a ‘half-asked’ job again. Next time I’ll empty the dishwasher the first time you ask!”

The actual dialogue as reported on Facebook…

WHAT HIS MOM HEARD PARKER SAY: Parker: “Mom can I earn back video games? I promise I will not do my chores half ass.” His Mom: “First, your language is not earning you anything.” Parker: “What do your mean I just said I won’t do them half ass” His Mom: “I know dude…it’s not okay to cuss” Parker: “What do you mean? I’m not cussing” His Mom: “You said the ‘A’ word…that is bad language in my book”

WHAT PARKER REALLY SAID: Parker: “I said…HALF ASKED…meaning you don’t have to ask me twice. That’s what it means right? HALF ASKED?” His Mom: “Yeah, yeah…half asked. That’s what is means.” With relief, my daughter let him return to his computer games.

This cute story made me ponder how often we misunderstand and settle for living our one precious life ‘half-asked.’ We don’t fully live our life responding fully in each moment and embracing our own self-worth. We ignore the importance of our own well-being and settle for living a ‘half-asked,’ rather than a wholehearted life.

I have walked through enough challenges and losses in my life to know that time is fleeting and life is short. I also am certain that the world would be a completely different place if women fully stepped into their own power and joy. Happy women create a happy world.

Are you ready to stop living a ‘half-asked’ life and dare to take a stand for your own happiness?

If not now, when?

Joyfully,

Rhonda

If you feel this newsletter would make the road of life a bit easier for another, please pass along. Invite all your family and friends to sign up for my newsletter by visiting http://www.centerofhappiness.com. [/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page